Thymewarp

Waiting for news

DSC_0047For six weeks I have been waiting for my post grad enrollment to be accepted, I am still waiting. Along with that, I have also come to a point with my knee rehabilitation that I might have to go back to the hated night fill job. If I get accepted for the course I won’t have to, but I don’t know yet. So I am waiting.DSC_0066

I have been busy making plans A, B and C to escape the supermarket doom. The thought of returning to that fills me with dread and I am resolved to avoid it at all costs, I didn’t mind the work. What I hated was the company, I am not a supermarket worker, and I have nothing in common with any of them. I only took the job because I had to.

How I came to be in this economic pickle is a story I am not yet ready to tell, I made a mistake, and it cost me, big time. Thats enough to say at the moment. I still have my home and I am not going to starve, I should be grateful.

A friend who designs textiles asked t me to design a range of hats to use up her furnishing remnants. I did that last week, she took the samples out and secured orders. I wish I could sell like that, but I have no flare for sales, well done her. Sewing up those orders will provide about 2/3 the income I need. The best bit is that I can work during the day and at home. So my garden won’t suffer so badly.

IMG_0625

Another friend helped me to get a casual weekend Maitre Dix position for a mobile catering company, the pay is worse than the supermarket, but the venues and people are nice. Two other possibilities are: An exhibition of paintings is due, hardly reliable income, but I can hope. I have always sold work I showed in the past so I can be reasonably confident that I will get a bit from that. I also think I need to learn how to use my photographs. I haven’t got a clue how to go about that, but I can learn. I think I manage a few good images.

There should be enough income there to pay my commitments.

IMG_0614

The point of writing all that is my way of dealing with the stress of not knowing what is happening to me next month. I am an organised person, I like knowing the night before what the next day will bring. I can enjoy that day even more if I have known what will happen for a couple of weeks. Preparation is comforting, knowing what is ahead is soothing. Chaos and uncertainty, that’s for stronger younger people, not me.

In other news – the chrysalis is slowly darkening, the brown doublet is languishing while I sew hats, the drought has hit the garden big time, one day of rain was nowhere near enough to save the plants.

I pray for news by the end of the week, I need to know what is happening to me, to be back in control.

This entry was published on February 3, 2015 at 8:36 pm. It’s filed under Lifestyle, lliving, Photography, Sewing, waiting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Waiting for news

  1. I hope you hear about your course soon, and the knee continues to heal. I find that if things are falling out of control I find a few things in the future to anchor me, fixed events that can be looked forward to. So hang in there and and keep smiling.

  2. I can relate on so many levels to your situation; past, present and waiting on plan A, B or C for the future. Best wishes and thank you for sharing your journey with us.

Leave a Reply

