Thymewarp

Lists

I am a list maker.

There I said it.

Today lists got overthrown, I had planned to talk about growing boy calves into bulls and the problems that incurs on a small block, and I think that I also planned to fell silver-beet trees….

On a normal day I have a studio list, a kitchen list, a garden list, a long-term list. There are others, but those are personal, and the older I get the more complex my lists become. I have a list to control my system of lists, and a list to make sure that everything on each list gets done in timely fashion.

It doesn’t always work of course but I think I achieve 80%. An an incomplete list is the foundation of the new list.

  1. I have two kitchen lists,
    1. Shopping, items I have or am about to run out of,
    2. Tasks, things I intend to cook, bake, clean or arrange.
    3. Today I realised that there is a third list required. Its the BEST list because it cross references the garden and studio lists. It is the what have I created that I don’t need to buy list. Happy dance.
  2. The garden list is quartered into seasons, divided by moon cycles and cross referenced by meteorological data. It comprises,
    1. foods I can grow easily
    2. crops that are easy but new to me
    3. experimental crops.

Thats the vegetable garden.

  1. The herb garden has morphed, once it was a parsley pot on the deck
    • then an humble culinary patch, I added rosemary, sage and thyme.
    • Then basil arrived,
    • The bay tree outgrew its pot, so I put it in the (then) paddock
    • I planted rosemary for bees, then more plants for bees.

And now the medicinal and dye garden is nearest my heart.

Yes, just playing.

Today I made lists as normal, and then friends arrived for a day in the country. I am sorry – no photos, just me burbling. I will drop a favourite photo from ‘Christmas Past’ into the ‘featured photo’, since we are all learning each other.

Back to ‘Tasks’ in the morning.

This entry was published on December 10, 2014 at 7:22 pm. It’s filed under Calf rearing, Creativity, Gardening, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Lists

  1. Hi, I’m a list-maker too, my life spills over with yellow post-its as they are the most convenient medium to hand and can be stuck to wallets etc, and I email myself notes/items to add to them… not pretty but it works. I have other longer term lists in the back of my day planner but your lists seem a lot less mundane and better organized.
    I saw your name/comments in Celi’s Fellowship, and thought I’d visit. I won’t be around much for several weeks after next, but I’ll be back 🙂

Leave a Reply

