Thymewarp

Planted

001

Calf: Planted –

002

First courgette: planted –

004

Kumara: Planted at last –

005

Corn: planted another ‘sister’-

003

Violas for Miss Bliss: planted

These are awful photos. No apologies for that, today was creative in other ways. A healing day. A day spent outside digging, weeding and planting. I simply wanted a record of what I did in the vegetable patch on this day, in this season in 2014.  Normally these photos would simply go into the gardening app I use on my iPad to be used as a handy reference, not visually creative masterpieces. I can see at a glance where I was at the same time each year. This is the third year of photographs and they make a useful record.

This blog is a handy reference too, I am resolved to make it a daily habit. I think my big son will appreciate it in future years, especially if something happens to me. I wish my Mum could have had the chance to do something like this for her daughters. No public internet in the 1980’s though was there.

I have never grown kumara (Maori sweet potato) before, so these plants are a bit special. Something new on a bleak glum day. A project – something new to learn, that is always fun.

The ‘three sisters’ planting pattern for corn, beans and squash is a repeat – I did it last year and got it wrong. I got no beans. Someone had told me that the corn needed a head-start on the beans, but I let my corn get too tall. It was about a foot tall before I put the bean seeds in – the corn took off and the little bean seedlings didn’t stand a chance. This year I put a bean seed in with each corn seedling and already the beans and corn are the same size. The pumpkins (squash) are still in the greenhouse, I won’t put them out until the cucumbers pop up in the vine garden. This year I will have big grey crown pumpkin, butternut squash and kamokamo – another kiwi vegetable, if they succeed I will have rock hard orange pumpkins which should be perfect for roasting (if you like your roast pumpkin dry). My Gran, all four foot eight of her used to take the pumpkin down into the wood splitting yard and swing the axe at it. If it shattered it was deemed a good pumpkin. One pumpkin gets planted in each circle.

I understand the symbiotic relationship the plants have, I like the concept – if you want detail of how-to and why-it-works – this is not your blog.

I notice I have attracted at least a few real followers. Thank you, you honour me – all I am doing is venting, but if you enjoy my venting I shall try to continue giving you a daily (or at least weekly) serving. Welcome aboard.

The violas – apart from their culinary uses, which we shall cover at some stage over the summer to come – have the perfect medieval meaning and symbolism for the wee soul that was set free last night. That’s what my garden is, a blend of seasonal produce, visual inspiration and deep hidden meanings.

OK   – its arty-farty

Thank you for reading

This entry was published on October 10, 2014 at 7:34 pm. It’s filed under Art, farming, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

